top of page
  • Corona Thinkers

LET IT BE by anonymous

Let it be. Something that I know quite a few people have had tattooed on their body. I always thought it was tacky, like, who needs to remind THAT to themselves? Who sees that as a life motto? Truth is, it is starting to sink it, it makes sense, especially now. I trust in fact that it is currently the most appropriate way to face these never ending challenges we encounter on a daily basis. I mean, that’s just my thought and my experience so far in this much dreaded quarantine in solitude, but the more it goes, the more it shows on other people too. Since I was told about this space, I have been trying to write something. I smiled, sometimes even laughed, when reading some of the posts, yet I had no idea where to start myself. Like most people probably have done, I would jot down thoughts and leave them, but I haven’t been able to vomit them out until not so long ago - and I use the word vomit on purpose. I use it because that’s what we should all feel like doing at times, I guess…No point in restraining ourselves. Let it be.  Anyway, the point I was getting at is that when I went back to those scribbled thoughts, I found I did not share the same emotions anymore, at all. When reading through them, I could still feel that feeling I once felt in the past (which seems so distant yet so near - is it weeks, days, hours?), but could not believe how quickly I shifted from one to the other. Did it all really happen in such a short amount of time (again, was it really short?) and, how did I do all of this on my own? You would usually think you need some sort of stimulation in order to feel certain things. No, you don’t, and that’s why our minds are so beautifully endearing. My emotions alternated so drastically: ecstatic, sad, sorrowful, overjoyed, numb and definitely crazy. Let it be. Today is day 50 for me.  Although I have been alone all this time, except for a couple of clandestine socially distanced meetings which I am not necessarily proud of, I must say I felt really close to the people around me, even if only virtually.  I think people have cut out of their lives people they realise are not exactly what they thought they were (or they did, but chose to ignore it), so that leaves you with a restricted pool of precious stones that you wish to keep polished at all times. I limited mine to less than 10, because I don’t think I could focus on any more at this time. I am a firm believer of “give everything”, otherwise it is not worth it. This has proven right as, any time one of us has felt anything that did not feel quite right, the other one was there. “It’s ok, let it be” one would say. That is the best thing to possibly say. This is it, we can only embrace this whole situation, we can only accept where we are, who we are, accept our feelings and not let ourselves down. We need to let it be in order for it to go. Or maybe it shouldn’t go, it should stay there, as a strong memory that at some point we will reminisce about, thinking “that was me, that was us, and it was exquisitely emotional”

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shh... Silent Zoom in progress by Anne Penketh

For the past week I’ve spent an hour a day in a virtual monastic retreat working on my new novel, courtesy of Zoom. A London friend of mine, Carola, had the genius idea of subverting the video confere

Life and science in the time of COVID by Jim Smith

Hardly anyone alive today, especially in high- income countries, has ever seen anything quite like COVID-19, with its effects not only on our health but on our social lives and the economy. We were bo

bottom of page